Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Goto- All About Color, Real Color Wheel in a new window

HomeHelpSearchLoginRegisterBroadcast Message to Admin(s)    
Transparent pigment triad w/ pictures (Read 5417 times)
Reply #7 - Feb 20th, 2014 at 4:42am

Admin   Offline
YaBB Administrator
Color is Everything!
Makawao,  Maui, USA, HI

Christophe Cardot
Hi Don,
Here's my first RCW with oil on canvas with the 3 primaries...
Cc

Christophe didn't use any black pigment, the colors just show up as black because that's the way computers do it. The colors used were opposition colors. Don

IP Logged

Reply #6 - Nov 14th, 2010 at 7:23am

Admin   Offline
YaBB Administrator
Color is Everything!
Makawao,  Maui, USA, HI

I got this email today and answered it.

On Nov 13, 2010, at 9:25 AM, Teresa J. wrote:

"Please send, very interesting! I am a student at FIT, NYC, Fine Arts dept. and am doing a short presentation on the RYB painters color wheel vs. the CMYK color wheel."

Ok, let's blow their socks off.
The three painter primary paints and the three printer primary inks are made from the same dry pigments,
http://www.realcolorwheel.com/3colors.htm
and all are transparent colors.
http://www.realcolorwheel.com/RCWplotter.htm

"One of the goals is to explain why the primaries are different, what is it about Red, Yellow and Blue that makes it necessary for painters to use them as the primaries."

That's ridicules, red, yellow and blue won't make the colors magenta and cyan. That's a VERY old colorwheel. And no, blue and green will not make cyan as Wet Canvas is saying in their color theory thread.

Sometimes you just have to kick the old king off the throne.

http://www.realcolorwheel.com/final.htm